BOARD MEETING FRIDAY, DECEMBER 3, 1869

At candle light this evening the following gentlemen met in the Courthouse in Dyersburg, and producing the Sheriffs' Certificate that they had been duly elected Aldermen for the Town of Dyersburg, were duly sworn as Aldermen by F.G. Sampson, Justice of the Peace for Dyer County, to wit: John B. Armstrong, Henry Boon, William E. Deberry, Thomas J. Frazier, G. D. McAllister, J.E. Roberts and Peter E. Wilson.

The Board then proceeded to organize when William E. Deberry was elected Mayor, Thomas J. Frazier was elected Treasurer, Frank G. Sampson was elected Recorder and John W. Nichols was elected Marshal.

On a motion of Alderman Frazier, a committee, to wit: Aldermen Frazier, Armstrong and Boon were appointed to make a survey of the Town of Dyersburg and ascertain its limits under the late Act of Assembly and make report to the next meeting of this Board of Aldermen.

On motion of Alderman Armstrong, a committee, to wit: Aldermen Armstrong and Frazier were appointed to prepare and report a Code of Laws for the government of the Town of Dyersburg at the next meeting of this Board of Aldermen.

On a motion of Alderman Armstrong, it was agreed that no property or poll tax should be collected or demanded until the end of the year 1869.

On motion of Alderman McAllister, it was agreed that this Board shall meet at the Court House next Friday evening at candle light.

On motion of Alderman Boon, the Board of Aldermen then adjourned.

W. E. Deberry