Minutes for the Meeting of the City of Dyersburg Municipal-Regional Planning Commission January 10, 2013 10:00 am Municipal Courtroom

<u>Commission Members Present:</u> Mayor John Holden, Tony Dement, Alderman Bart Williams, Sherry Guthrie, Paul Newbill, Brian Ramm, and John Pressler.

<u>Staff and Others Present:</u> Carmen Cupples, IT Manager, Will Radford, Planner/Consultant, Nelson/Thornton, P.C., Justin Avent, City Engineer, Thomas Mullins, City of Dyersburg Codes Enforcement Office, and Chad Smith, Dyersburg Elevator Company.

Mayor Holden opened the meeting by stating that this was the first Municipal-Regional Planning Commission meeting for the year 2013, declared that a quorum was present and called the meeting to order. Mayor Holden called for a motion to approve the minutes of the October 11, 2012 Commission meeting. The motion was made by Bart Williams, with second by Paul Newbill. The motion passed and the minutes were approved.

As order of new business was the election of officers for the Commission for 2013.

Mayor Holden announced the re-appointment of Mr. Burks and Ms. Guthrie whose appointments expired. Mayor Holden stated the Commissioners have agreed to the re-appointments.

Mayor Holden opened the floor for nominations for Chairman. Eddie Burks was nominated for Chairman by Paul Newbill, with a second by John Pressler. Mr. Burks was unanimously elected. Following the Chairman election Sherry Guthrie nominated Paul Newbill for Vice-Chairman. Tony Dement seconded the nomination, and Mr. Newbill was elected by full vote. Finally, Sherry Guthrie nominated John Pressler, with second by Paul Newbill, for Secretary. Mr. Pressler was unanimously elected. It was noted that all re-elected Officers abstained from voting.

At the conclusion of the election of Officers, Mayor Holden turned the meeting over to Vice Chairman Newbill. Mr. Burks called for any old business. No old business was presented.

I. New Business

A. . Dyersburg Elevator Company Grain Bin Addition

Mr. Chad Smith presented plans to construct a new grain storage tank at 300 Pressler Road in Dyersburg as part of an expansion of facility growth for the Dyersburg Elevator Company. The property was identified as Parcel 32.00 on Dyer County Tax Map 100. The property is zoned M-2 (Medium Industrial).

Mr. Radford noted the property does not appear to be in a federally identified flood hazard area. The addition will sit on the 10 acre parcel. Further analysis made by staff included the new proposed Grain Bin is 125 feet tall, and the commission is required by M-2 District provision to approve any structure taller than 75 feet. Additionally, staff has spoken to the City Fire Department who has indicated no issues with provided fire protection with the proposed height of the structure. The structure will be the largest in the Southeast United States. The structure appears to meet the setbacks of the M-2 district which are 35 feet in the front, 30 feet rear, and 20 feet side setback.

Staff recommended approval of the addition as it appears to meet all requirements and provided that it meets final approval of the fire Department. After hearing the request and staff recommendation Mr. Williams moved to approve the request. Mr. Dement seconded the motion and the Commission approved the request by full vote.

The recommendation will be presented to the City Board of Mayor and Alderman at the next Board meeting.

II. Old Business:

A. Any old business that may be accepted for discussion by the Planning Commission. None presented.

III. Other Business/Reports:

- A. Administrative Reports. No reports presented.
- B. Statement of Interest Disclosure Forms. Mr. Radford reminded the Commission of the timeframe and responsibility to submit to the State the 2013 on-line (or mailed hard copy) Statement of Interest Disclosure form. It was noted by staff that this is the first year to submit such forms and the Commission should expect to submit the disclosure annually in the month of January.

With no further business presented before the Planning Commission the meeting adjourned at 10:18 a.m.

	John Pressler, Secretary
Robert C. Jones, Recorder	